VALORANT Rank and Act Rank: What’s the difference?


VALORANT Rank and Act RankLike many competitive FPS games, VALORANT features a few different means of measuring ranking advancement and the overall rating of players against each other. Each player has an overall VALORANT rank, but each act has its own “Act Rank.” What’s the difference between these two?

In this guide, we’ll talk about all you need to know about VALORANT ranks, the current rank distribution, and competitive play.


There are currently nine tiers in VALORANT’s ranking system, with Iron being the lowest and Radiant being the highest. All of these tiers, except for Radiant, have three sub-ranks within them, with 1 as the lowest and 3 as the highest.

Moreover, the top 500 players in each region will reach Radiant rank, and the top 1% in each region will attain Immortal rank. If you’re aiming to improve your skills and reach the top, that’s where you want to set up shop.

Here’s a complete list of VALORANT ranks:

  • Iron 1
  • Iron 2
  • Iron 3
  • Bronze 1
  • Bronze 2
  • Bronze 3
  • Silver 1
  • Silver 2
  • Silver 3
  • Gold 1
  • Gold 2
  • Gold 3
  • Platinum 1
  • Platinum 2
  • Platinum 3
  • Diamond 1
  • Diamond 2
  • Diamond 3
  • Ascendant 1
  • Ascendant 2
  • Ascendant 3
  • Immortal 1
  • Immortal 2
  • Immortal 3
  • Radiant

You will need to reach account level 20 before unlocking Competitive mode, which will allow you to show off your skills to other Competitive players. After that, you’ll have to play five placement matches to determine your starting rank and skill level.


On the other hand, Act Ranks are different. An Act is a competitive period in an Episode, while an Episode is the size of an event and consists of three Acts. Your Act Rank determines your rank throughout the course of one Act. Your best ranking win decides it.

Every time you win a competitive match, you get a triangle representing the rank you played in. For example, it will be brown for the Bronze rank or silver for the Silver rank. As you climb the ranks, new triangles representing higher-ranked matches will replace lower-ranked ones. Not to mention, you can upgrade your border level with every win you get! (The maximum is a level 5 border, good luck.)

Rank Decay

VALORANT doesn’t have a rank decay system, although it does track your activity in Competitive Mode. If you are inactive for 14 days, your rank will be hidden. This will be restored once you have completed your first match back. If you are absent for more than two weeks, your rank will not decay.

Rank Reset

Do note that your rank will reset with every VALORANT Episode, which is about every six months. Following your first ranked game in a new Episode, you will be rated up to 3-4 ranks lower; Riot feels this is an opportunity for players to “re-prove themselves”.

MMR and RR Rating

VALORANT rates players in ranked using a matchmaking rating system known as MMR. Every player will have a number connected with their account that will change over time, moving them up and down the rankings as they improve.

If you’re in the lower tiers, the ranking system will be based only on whether you win or lose a match as a team. Your individual performance will play a slightly smaller role. However, once you hit the higher ranks, that changes drastically.

RR points, on the other hand, are points you gain after a match that is strictly assigned to your MMR. The higher your MMR, the more RR points you can get if you win and the fewer you will drop if you lose a match.

Also Read: VALORANT Solo Queue Tips to Help You Rank Up

More Notes

Some other things to note about VALORANT’s competitive play include the following:

  • Groups of four players are not allowed. This is to prevent solo players from getting picked on.
  • Groups of two or three players have to stay within the rank disparity requirements; they have to be within the same rank or one rank lower or higher.
  • Although groups of five players have no restrictions, there will be rank rating gains and losses depending on what ranks your five-stack has.

Remember to top up your VALORANT Points at Codashop. We provide a quick and easy option to acquire VALORANT Points. Simply enter your Riot ID, the number of VALORANT Points you wish to buy, and the payment method you desire. It’s simple, quick, and easy.